Spicy Saké Shrimp

image

When I was younger, I refused to eat seafood.  I couldn’t stand the smell or the taste. I was a very picky eater and as children, we were pampered by our mother as she always made a huge selection for dinner. There was always a meat, vegetables, and a rice/carb.  There was always an abundance of food choices available that I never missed out on the seafood.
Much of that changed as I got older and took an interest in cooking and learning from my mom.
When I met my husband,  he would take me out to fancy restaurants on our dates and one day; we ordered garlic shrimp.  It was swimming in butter with a delicious baguette on the side and it was absolutely delicious!   Boy was I missing out on all those years of amazing spicy Pakistani seafood dishes my mom would make!
I savour seafood and I rather enjoy creating new recipes and trying different flavours.
This recipe is very easy to make and it’s absolutely delicious,  I hope you’ll try it and enjoy it as much as we do.  Bon Appétit! 🙂

Recipe:

Spicy Saké Shrimp

35 large shrimp,  deveined, tails removed
2 Tblsp Clarified butter (ghee)
2 garlic cloves,  crushed
1 tsp dried chipotle pepper flakes
1 green chili pepper, thinly sliced
1 tsp raw sugar
Salt
Pepper
3/4 cup saké

Fresh parsley, chopped (handful)
1/2 Fresh lime, juiced

In a large heavy saucepan,  melt the ghee on very high heat.  Add the shrimp and cook until pink (approx 5 minutes).
Transfer the shrimp to a large serving bowl and set aside.

With the remaining ghee in the saucepan, add the chipotle flakes,  crushed garlic, raw sugar, green chili, salt, and pepper. Cook over high heat for approximately 3 minutes.

Add the saké and reduce by half, about 3 minutes more.  Add the chopped parsley and pour over the shrimp. Sprinkle the lime juice over top.
Serve hot with a fresh sliced baguette or as a main with rice.   Enjoy! 🙂

Leave a comment